ifyouloveitmakeit

Just another WordPress.com site

Mother’s Day

on June 3, 2012

This year for Mother’s Day I decided to get the Little Bit’s together and make a cute craft for my mom.  I had an idea I’d seen a while back that was so super cute on http://homemade.tipjunkie.com/mod-podge-photo-flower-pots/.  Tipjunkie.com is truly one of my favorite bloggy sites!  So many creative people giving their ideas and their how-to’s so you can do it too!  It’s…   Awesome!

Anyway, I had already decided on a gardening-type theme since my mom has a very green thumb and really enjoys tending to her flowers and her garden.  I’ve always wanted to be able to nurture plants and grow beautiful flowers just like her.  It’s just been in the last few years that’s she’s started teaching me all she knows about flower-growing and my flowerbeds are extremely thankful to my mom, as am I.

Now, I know what you’re thinking — Mother’s Day was a couple weeks ago!  Well, I didn’t get to bring her gifts to her until we went for a visit recently and I know what a faithful reader she is of my blog 🙂 so I didn’t want to ruin the surprise for her.  So, you see why I couldn’t post these pics until now.  Right?

Ok, so on to the Mother’s Day gift.   I really wanted my Little Bits involved to make it even more special for them as well as for her.  They love a good craft project 😀 — just like their Mama :D.  I found the tutorial (above) online a while back and kept it in my “idea folder” for a while now just waiting for the perfect opportunity to pull it out and craft away!  Enter Mother’s Day and BINGO, the perfect opportunity! Yay!

My kids LOVE to paint so we picked up some sponge brushes, some white (outdoor) latex paint along with a few terracotta pots and got started!

We started out cleaning the pots and the trays that go underneath just to get all the dirt and anything off that might leave bumps under the paint.  Then we all donned our painting clothes and got started!  We ended up having to do several layers of paint just because the terracotta seemed to suck up the first few layers we put on.  I think we ended up with 4 or 5 layers but I really don’t remember because I was just eager to get to the mod-podging part!

But, the kids liked the painting part the best.  They always love to paint something.  LB3 usually likes to paint herself more than her artwork, so we have some improvement on this project from the last one.

LB2 is my most artistic Little Bit so she was all over the painting of the pots!  Can you tell she was having fun? LOL

The kiddos were a little over the whole painting thing (all those coats of paint were very time consuming) so we all took

a breather while the pots and the plates dried.

 

 

 

 

Once the pots were all dried, and the mod-podging was set to begin, I set the little bits off to watch a movie so I could get my craft on!

So, I had the music on and the craftiness flowing and forgot to take pics until I was all done.  Ummm, so, the process was liek this:

Once the paint was all dry, I printed off pics that I took while the LB’s were painting and printed them out on regular printer paper in black and white.

I did different sizes so it would look like a sort of collage, and painted them on the pots with mod-podge.  A little underneath each picture and then I smoothed it out with a little bit of mod-podge on top of each picture.   Each picture only took a layer of mod-podge with a few touch up layers for any of the pictures that started to peel.  Then they had to sit and dry for several hours.  Once they were all dried, a few layers of clear-coat spray paint had to be applied to all the pots and all the plates.  Then that had to sit and dry overnight.  Once I finished the last layer of clear-coat, I waited about 24 hours for it to dry completely.

 

They turned out so cute!  I was really pleased with the end results and all the hard work was worth it.

As you can see, there was a pot for LB1, one for LB2 and one for LB3.  They were pretty excited to have

a personalized gift from each of them to give to their Grandma for Mother’s Day.

 

 

After all the work (really it was so much fun making them and the anitcipation of how they would turn out was really fun as well, so the work wasn’t bad at all :D) and all the waiting (and waiting, and waiting), I decided the add a little pop of color with a pretty pink ribbon around the top of each pot (secured by a little dot from my trusty glue gun) and tied in a pretty pink (well, that IS my mom’s favorite color) bow!

Then all the Little Bit’s helped add some soil and a couple of pretty flowers in each pot to make a special personalized  gift for Grandma!  Oh they’re just so colorful and pretty!!

 So, we were finally able to make it down and take our pretty flowers to Grandma’s over Memorial Day

Weekend and it was a lot of fun too!

Hope you all had a great Mother’s Day and a great Memorial Day!

Til next time…

Leave a Reply

