ifyouloveitmakeit

Just another WordPress.com site

DIY Laundry Powder

on September 2, 2012

Okay, so you already know that I make my own Dishwasher powder and the reason for that is mostly to save a buck.  Boy, do I like saving moolah!  It’s because of this (along with my many friends who have started making their own laundry powder — and raved of its easiness) that I decided to try some DIY Laundry Soap; in the powder form.

I was pretty stocked up on the store-bought laundry soap, so I waited until I ran out (which took a while) and then got started.  First thing to do is to look up the recipe online :D.  Basically I just did a google search for “Borax, Washing Soda, Fels Naptha” and up popped many results.  I then added “powdered laundry soap” and wah-lah!

http://www.blessingsoverflowing.com/2012/02/homemade-powdered-laundry-detergent/

 So, this is the site I got my recipe from and since I already had everything except the bar of soap, I started my measuring.  Now, instead of doing the amount in the recipe (partly because I didn’t really want to start with that much soap just in case I ended up not really liking it, and partly because I have a slight problem with reading directions and just kind of going my own way.  Then reading the directions and thinking “Ummm, whoops!”).  But, it did turn out okay, so here’s what I did…

The supplies:

1 Cup Borax

1 Cup Washing Soda

and 1 bar Fels-Naptha soap, finely grated

Once I gathered my supplies, and measured them out, and grated the bar of soap, I just mixed all the ingredients together.  I stirred and stirred and stirred until the mixture was super fine (well, except for the grated soap, since it couldn’t really get any smaller…).

This is what it looked like:

Then I just poured the mixture into my air-tight container:

Found a scooper:

I measured out 1 Tbls of detergent and saw that it almost fills up my scooper.  Since that’s the amount for 1 load of laundry, I just make sure to only put in a little less than one scoopful of detergent.

**if the load is very soiled, use 2 Tbls.  Use your own judgement, I trust you 😉

Anyway, so there you have it.  Super simple, right?

If that’s not enough for you, read that lady’s blog because once you read it all the way through (Yes, I did FINALLY read it all the way through — hence the Ummm, whoops moment), you’ll be convinced as well.  If the easiness of it doesn’t make you want to run out and buy your supplies, the cost breakdown will.  I mean, pennies for 1 load of laundry?   Yes, Please!

Til Next time…

One response to “DIY Laundry Powder

  1. Thanks for linking to my blog. I am glad you like your version of the laundry detergent. It sounds like it worked fine for you not to have followed my directions. 🙂 I am guilty of not reading all the way through, too.

Leave a Reply

