ifyouloveitmakeit

Just another WordPress.com site

The bookshelf makeover…

on October 4, 2012

When I was a little girl, my Great Grandfather built me a bookshelf that my Dad brought home and put together for me.  I used this bookshelf for… well, forever — at least until I got married and moved away from home.  Now, I assume that most people don’t form emotional attachments to furniture but me? Well, I’m not like most people.  I love my childhood bookshelf and it’s moved from town to town and state to state with us for each move over the years.

It’s spent some time in my son’s room.  He wasn’t exactly thrilled with the heart cutout on it, so when my first daughter was born (that’d be LB2), it was moved into her room and he got a new one.

Over the years, this bookshelf has followed us faithfully all over the place 😀 and hasn’t received one single fresh coat of paint (what a bad bookshelf owner I am! SO, recently I decided to freshen it up for my girls (since they’re sharing a room now) and maybe even add something on it that will give it a little POP!

I ultimately decided to add a little green that will match the green trim on the house bed (I’ll get to THAT at a later date), so I went to Walmart and chose our green and got started.  I really wanted to tell you about this little trick using saran wrap over painting trays.

 Okay, so we all know that I’m a little cheap I mean thrifty.  I’m always looking for ways to cut costs so that I can save a little bit of money (that’s not necessarily a bad thing, and if you agree please email my hubby :D).  So, I heard about this trick a while ago and thought I’d try it and see how it turns out.  All you do is wrap saran wrap (I used the Glad Press n Seal because I like it better than Saran wrap) over the top of your paint tray like so:

Then you just pour your paint in the tray as you normally would and use your roller.  My tray had already been used a while back so it still had some leftover paint in it (Hubby doesn’t like the whole clean up when you’re done painting process) but that’s okay, it still worked for me.  And no, I didn’t use a roller for the entire project, but it was super helpful and things went much quicker in the beginning when I was putting the white on it.  Anyway, once you’re all done painting for the day, you just clean your roller and throw away the saran wrap (or press n seal — whichever you choose to use) and your tray is all cleaned up.

So once all the white was freshly added, Hubby nailed together the backing which was coming off and it already looked like a new bookshelf!  A new bookshelf that I forgot to take a picture of.  Sigh.

Even though I forgot to take the “after” picture of the plain white paint, I DID remember to take the “after” picture when it had it’s green trim done.

Isn’t it cute?

Well, I really like it.

So now it’s in my girls’ room with all their many books on it (we like to read over here — a lot) and they love it.  Now, to get started on that house bed….

Isn’t it too cute?! My Dad made it for LB2 and she is SO in love with it.  For that matter, LB3 is super in love with it as well :).  All it needs now is a little detailing (like some green trim that matches that bookshelf ;D)!

Til Next Time…

Leave a Reply

