ifyouloveitmakeit

Just another WordPress.com site

DIY Laundry Powder — revisited…

on October 7, 2012

You may remember a few weeks ago when I posted my DIY laundry soap and how I goofed a bit when reading the directions; or should I say not really reading all the directions.  Anyway, I decided next time I needed to follow the directions so I could make sure my soap turned out the right way.  On my second attempt, I used Dove soap instead of the Fels Naptha and my soap smelled sooooo good.  I also decided this time I wanted my soap to be chopped up a little bit smaller.  I had seen somewhere online a woman who used her food processor to chop her soap up when making her laundry powder (I looked again for that link, but couldn’t find it — it was basically the same directions as before except for the addition of the extra step to blend, one cup at a time, the powder once it’s all mixed together).

Now, since I really loved the way the Fels Naptha soap cleaned the clothes and the way the Dove soap smelled in the laundry soap, I decided to make a super huge batch with both soaps.  The best of both worlds :D.

I now know 😉 if I’m using an entire bar of the soap I need to use more of the other ingredients (I mean it’s really amazing that my recipes turn out okay what with this aversion to direction reading!) so MY ingredients for this large batch of Laundry Powder is:

4 Cups Borax

4 Cups Washing Soda

1 Bar Dove soap

1 Bar Fels Naptha laundry soap

cheese grater

Electric Blender (no not for cocktails)

So, I just followed the directions that I used before, but just so you don’t have to look that up I’ll give tem to you again:

1) Grate your soaps and put them in a large bowl.

2) Measure out your other ingredients and mix everything together in the large bowl.

3) Using 1 Cup at a time, pour your powder/soap mixture into your blender and blend until the powder is fine.

4) Put your fine powder into an airtight container and use 1 Tbls per load of laundry.

Now, a blog of mine would NOT be complete without some pics so, as to not disappoint, here are some pics:

I forgot to take before pics so the other ingredients are in the container :D.

I really like the powder to be super fine like this much better than with the clumpy (only grated, without blending in a blender) soap.  Since I did make a batch in between this one and my first try (the last one I blogged about), I know that I really liked to use the finer powder better. It lasted a little longer and I think that’s partly because the soap was ground up smaller, and it just seemed to look more like powdered laundry soap you’d buy in the store.

  So, there you have it.  I DO know how to read and follow directions.  It’s difficult for me, but it can be done :D.

Til next time…

Leave a Reply

