ifyouloveitmakeit

Just another WordPress.com site

Did you know…

on November 15, 2012

Recently my girls and I went on a school field trip with my Little Bit 2 and her  class where we visited a farm in our local area.  We all had a good time but my Little Bits had SO MUCH FUN digging in the dirt and learning about the different things they did long ago on farms just like the one we visited.  When we finished up and headed for home, we went away with some knowledge we didn’t have before and a lot of green peanuts!

Here are my 2 Little Bits digging for peanuts.  Even my littlest bit has a great love for boiled peanuts — that’s my girl :D.

Okay, so if you’re from South Carolina, you definitely know what green peanuts are, especially if you have a love for boiled peanuts like I do.  If you’re not, green peanuts are just peanuts that are freshly harvested and haven’t been dried or dehydrated.  Peanuts are actually not a nut at all but are considered beans and are really good for you.  South Carolinians have been eating boiled peanuts since Civil War times when, because of food shortages, Confederate soldiers began to use them as a source of protein.

To sanitize the peanuts straight from the ground, they boiled them in salt water and ate them.  Most people who I come across (since I’m no longer living in my home state) haven’t even heard of boiled peanuts, but these legumes play an important part of the culture where I come from.  When the soldiers came home from the war, they shared the boiled peanuts recipe creating a southern delicacy we all still enjoy today.  In fact, South Carolina named boiled peanuts the state snack in 2006.  Though they have many names, they are a delicious salty treat we enjoy almost any time of year!

(information was found here: http://www.sciway.net/shop/sc-boiled-peanuts.html)

So, now that the history lesson is over :), here’s how you make ’em!

Most people cook their boiled peanuts in a large stock pot on the stove for several days.  Since I don’t like that method (mostly because you have to keep watching it and stirring and make sure the pot doesn’t boil over and the water doesn’t evaporate… etc, etc), I cooked mine in the crock pot.  All I did was clean my peanuts off (this is very important to me since sometimes you have to crack the shells with your teeth and eating dirt is NOT fun).

My LB3 loves helping wash anything off in the kitchen sink, so she was my big helper here.

Next, dump them in the crock pot, pour enough water to cover the peanuts and start dumping in salt.  I’m not really sure on the measurements of everything I added, but the website above has measurements on everything and I think, even though the method of cooking is different, you could still use the same measurements.

So, basically, all I did was add the cleaned peanuts, the salt and the water to the crock pot and turned it on high.  I cooked them for about 24 hours (turning it to low and making sure there was plenty of water for overnight cooking).  Once they were done, which means that they’re tender, but not soggy (that’s what most people complain about when explaining their disdain for boiled peanuts), they’re ready to eat!  yum!

She could hardly wait to sink her teeth into those peanuts! 😀

My hubby, being from Texas, had never heard of such a thing before he met me.  But with lots of persuading, he finally tried this yummy treat I always rave about and they quickly became a favorite of his as well.  So, even if you may think “eeeewwwww” at the thought of peanuts boiled in lots of salt, try it, you just might find a new favorite treat :D.  Trust me, they are YUMMY!!

Til Next time…

Leave a Reply

