ifyouloveitmakeit

Just another WordPress.com site

Down on the Farm…

on November 18, 2012

My Little Bit #2 is a big bad third grader this year.  Wow, where did the time go?  I really don’t know but some days I sit and wonder how in the world my kids all got to be so big.  Anyway, even though my girl is a big girl, she still wants me around.  I love that.  She still wants me to drive her to school and pick her up at the bus stop and hang out with her around the house.  When she asked me to attend her field trip with her, I was super excited and got all my ducks in a row so I could tag along!

This particular field trip was to a local farm here in the town we live in.  I took my LB2 to school on the day of the field trip (decked out in her winter jacket and gloves because boy was it super chilly outside!), and bundled up my LB3 since she stays home with me during the day, and prepared our sack lunches so we could go and learn all about Papa’s Farm!  I thought it MUST be a little drive, so I got my music ready and prepared myself to follow the buses.  About 5-7 minutes later we arrived at Papa’s Farm.  Huh, not near as far away as I anticipated LOL.

The first thing we did was pick those yummy peanuts that we boiled later when we got home.  Oh YUMMY!

LB3 and I even picked some peanuts since we knew what yummy treats were in store!

Next we dug for sweet potatoes (which we also got to take home — hello Sweet Potato Casserole!)

Then we got to pick corn straight off the stalk — LB3 found a Little Bit just her size to be her partner 🙂 Awwww

There were lessons to be learned after all that gardening

LB3 was enamored by the scarecrow sign in the back of the crowd.

There were chickens running loose

There were goats

The kids got to shuck a corn cob

And then got to use the nifty little cutter thingy (that’s the technical name for it), and cut all the corn kernels off the cob so they could later be ground up and made into corn meal

Next the kids got to make an old-fashioned toy out of a piece of string and a large button

We also went on a hay-ride and when it was almost time to head back to school…

the class got together for a photo-op!

It was a lot of fun and I’m so glad I was able to tag along.  It made my LB #2 happy too, so I’m a happy Mama.

Til Next time…

Leave a Reply

